Appointments & Awards: April 2017

Mar 28, 2017


St. Michael's Hospital and the University of Toronto

Ryan Brydges, Professorship of Technology-Enabled Education

Dr. Ryan Brydges has been appointed to the Professorship in Technology-Enabled Education – a Hospital-University held, five-year term Professorship – effective April 3, 2017. Dr. Brydges'  vision for the Professorship in Technology-Enabled Education will be realized through collaborative research, thoughtful innovation, and commitment to quality improvement. He believes now is the time for aligning the education and patient safety missions in our healthcare institutions. (Read more)


Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease Canada

Derek MacFadden, 2016 AMMI Canada Trainee Research Award
For the manuscript "Impact of Reported Beta-Lactam Allergy on Inpatient Outcomes: A Multicenter Prospective Cohort Study."

Isaac Bogoch, 2016 AMMI Canada Young Investigator Award
In recognition of his contributions to research in the fields of infectious diseases and medical microbiology.

Allison McGeer, 2016 AMMI Canada Lifetime Achievement Award
In recognition of her many years of devoted service to the field of infectious disease.

Canadian Association for HIV Research and Canadian Foundation For AIDS Research

Mona Loutfy, CAHR-CANFAR Excellence in Research Awards in the Clinical Sciences category

Heart and Stroke Foundation

Sacha Bhatia, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSFC) 2017/2018 Ontario Clinician Scientist (Phase I) Award

David Gladstone, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSFC) 2017/18 Ontario Mid-Career Investigator Award

Steve Lin, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSFC) 2017/18 Ontario Clinician-Scientist Award (Phase I)

Moira Kapral, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSFC) 2017/2021 Mid-Career Investigator Award

Gustavo Saposnik, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada (HSFC) 2017/18 Ontario Mid-Career Investigator Award

International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society (MDS)

Anthony Lang, MDS Pan-American Section Leadership Award

Dr. Lang was the first recipient of this award bestowed at the time of the first MDS-PAS Congress in Miami, February 24-26, 2017. The award recognizes long-standing and extensive leadership contribution to the Society, particularly his role in conceiving and developing the Pan-American Section when he served as president of the International Society from 2007-2009.

Rolf Luft Foundation

Daniel Drucker, 2017 Rolf Luft Award for Diabetes and Endocrinology

Dr. Drucker is a physician-scientist who receives the Rolf Luft Award 2017 for his pioneering studies of gut hormone action. He was the first scientist to discover the biological actions of glucagon-like peptide-2 (GLP-2). (Read more.)

Women’s College Hospital

Natasha Bollegala, Jean Davey Honorary Fund
The Jean Davey Honorary Fund encourages and supports continuing education leading to the improvement of patient care at Women's College Hospital.


Back to Top