Department of Medicine

Our Leadership

Department of Medicine Executive

The Department of Medicine is aptly led by a diverse team of senior leaders, who are recognized for their national and international contributions to academic medicine.

Our Executive Committee is comprised of clinicians who are early in their career, as well as those who are established. We have six physicians-in-chief who represent the department at the fully affiliated Toronto Academic Health Science Network (TAHSN) hospitals with the Department of Medicine, University of Toronto.

Education, Research, Quality and Innovation and Mentorship, Equity and Diversity are the portfolios that drive the Department of Medicine’s strategic vision and mission – and each portfolio is led by one of four vice-chairs.

Each of our 20 divisions is led by a departmental division director, and the divisional residency and fellowship programs are supported by directors in each individual division.

Our Organizational Structure

Department of Medicine Organizational Chart

Department of Medicine Executive Committee

Senior Executive

Gillian Hawker Sir John and Lady Eaton Professor and Chair of Medicine
Michael Farkouh

Vice-Chair, Research

Arno Kumagai Vice-Chair, Education
Kaveh Shojania Vice-Chair, Quality and Innovation
TBD Vice-Chair, Mentorship, Equity and Diversity


Chaim Bell Sinai Health System
Ed Cole University Health Network
Paula Harvey Women's College Hospital
Michelle Hladunewich Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Gary Naglie Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care
Sharon Straus St. Michael's Hospital

Department Division Directors


Susanna Mak

Peter Vadas (Acting) Clinical Immunology & Allergy
David Juurlink Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology
Laurent Brochard Critical Care
Vincent Piguet Dermatology
Anil Chopra

Emergency Medicine

Jacqueline James Endocrinology & Metabolism
Laura Targownik Gastroenterology
Moira Kapral General Internal Medicine
Barbara Liu Geriatric Medicine
Isaac Odame Hematology
Rupert Kaul

Infectious Diseases

Monika Krzyzanowska Medical Oncology
Rulan Parekh Nephrology
Xavier Montalban Neurology
Linn Holness Occupational Medicine
Camilla Zimmermann Pallative Medicine
Larry Robinson Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Douglas Bradley Respirology
Heather McDonald-Blumer Rheumatology

Department Program Directors

Ryan Brydges Educational Researcher
Robert Chen Chair, Eliot Phillipson Clinician-Scientist Training Program
Shiphra Ginsburg

Director, Educational Scholarship

Jeannette Goguen

Director, Postgraduate Specialty Programs
Cheryl Jaigobin Director, Fellowship Programs
Luke Devine Director, Undergraduate Medical Education
Brian Wong Director, Continuing Education and Quality Improvement

Eric Yu

Director, Postgraduate Subspecialty Programs

Generational Perspective Representatives

Kaif Pardhan Lecturer, Clinician Teacher
Amanda Steiman Assistant Professor, Clinician in Quality & Innovation

Senior Administration

Margaret Mah Director, Business and Administration

Monica Flak

Kristian Galberg

Strategic Planning Officer
Joanna King Research Administrator
Brianne Tulk Communications Officer
TBD Senior Advancement Officer