Appointments & Awards: December 2017

Dec 13, 2017


Interim Associate Dean, Physician Scientist Training

Robert Chen, effective December 1, 2017


Writers' Trust of Canada

James Maskalyk, 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Department of Medicine Professor James Maskalyk has been honoured with the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction for his memoir, Life on the Ground Floor, in which reflects on the delivery of emergency room care

Council of Ontario Universities 

Areti Angeliki Veroniki, 2017 Charles Polanyi Prize in Physiology/Medicine
Dr. Veroniki is a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Department of Medicine Professor Sharon Strauss, based at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital, where she conducts meta-analyses on studies related to Type 1 diabetes and Alzheimer’s disease. The honour is one of five Polanyi prizes and recognizes postdoctoral researchers and newly appointed faculty members at Ontario universities.

American Society for Clinical Investigation 

Daniel Drucker, 2017 Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine 
The 2017 Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine has been jointly awarded to University of Toronto Professor Daniel Drucker, with Drs. Joel Habener (Massachusetts General Hospital) and Jens Holst (University of Copenhagen), for their discovery of incretin hormones and translation of these findings into therapies for metabolic diseases such as diabetes. This award, presented by the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Harrington Discovery Institute, honors a physician-scientist who has moved science forward with achievements notable for innovation, creativity, and potential for clinical application.

Back to Top